Link to highlight about weight loss

The USDA has a great website to help one plan meals and count calories. Obesity has been on the rise in the United States for many years. We tend to eat too much and not exercise enough. As someone with food allergies, I find that I do eat less junk food than the average American, just because I can’t eat a lot of packaged goods. This does help to keep my weight down. However, I can easily see myself eating too much of the chips or ice cream that I can eat but could easily avoid, while not exercising much. This can lead to weight gain. Some days, I even think that the 2000 calorie allowance is way too much for me at 5 ft. tall. I definitely eat under 1500 calories a day and some days only 1000. Eliminating soft drinks, coffee, and juice, and only drinking water does eliminate a lot of calories. So do check out this site from the USDA to see how many calories you can eliminate, just by cutting some of the snacks and junk food from your diet, or cutting the portion size that you normally eat if you are overeating. Someone once told me that our stomach is only the size of our fist, and eating more than that could lead to a large amount of weight gain. Although, eating that little sometimes seems to be not enough for me, it is a good rule of thumb for over eaters as a guide to decrease portion sizes.

https://www.choosemyplate.gov/SuperTracker/default.aspx

One Comment on “Link to highlight about weight loss”

  1. Mary says:

    USDA guidelines are very general – there is no one-size-fits-all eating plan! Still, small changes and swaps to save calories here and there can benefit almost everyone. The best way to figure out your personal calorie goals (besides consulting a nutritionist) is to calculate your BMR and TDEE – based on height, weight, and activity level. There are a few free calculators online that are definitely worth checking out. Good luck with your weight loss journey!


Leave a Reply

